Proposed Common Test for Teacher Hirings and Research Scholars

The draft higher education policy of Odisha has recommended a common state-level eligibility test (SLET) for recruitment of college teachers and registration of MPhil and PhD scholars.

TOI is in possession of a copy of the draft policy which suggests formation of a state-level committee to conduct the SLET.

The state universities currently conduct their own tests for admission to pre-MPhil and pre-PhD courses. The test for recruitment of college teachers is conducted by the Odisha Public Service Commission.

Also See: Scholarship/Fellowship Notifications Across India

Higher education minister Pradeep Panigrahy said the draft would be put in public domain soon for inviting suggestions and objections from people. The draft has been prepared by a seven-member committee led by Fakir Mohan University vice-chancellor S P Adhikary. It suggests making it mandatory for all higher education institutions to take part in the exercise undertaken by the Union HRD ministry for ranking educational institutions across the country under the National Institutional Ranking Framework.

Incidentally, none of the state government-run universities participated in the first such exercise after which the rankings were published on April 4. The draft also suggests a state-level panel for accreditation of institutions on the lines of National Assessment and Accreditation Council. The proposed Accreditation and Assessment System of Odisha will ensure assessment of all higher educational institutions in the state through a two-step process of self-evaluation and peer review.

Related: Top PhD Entrance Exams in India

The draft policy proposes yearly assessment of performance of college and university teachers on the basis of their research, academic contributions, participation in conferences and publication of books. The high-performing teachers should be awarded, it said. To ease the load of universities, the draft recommends creation of affiliating centres to start with and converting them into universities gradually. V D College, Jeypore should be made an affiliating centre for colleges in Nabrangpur, Koraput, Malkangiri and Rayagada districts, which are currently affiliated to Berhampur University, it says.

The draft further says the colleges in Kalahandi, Balangir, Nuapada and Sonepur districts affiliated to Sambalpur University should be brought under Rajendra College-Balangir after upgrading it to a university. It also suggests a teacher:student ratio of at least 1:15 in universities and 1:20 in undergraduate colleges.

News Courtesy: Times Of India (toi)

Also See:

Show Comments

No Responses Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.